top of page
Search

April 2023 staff picks

Amee:

What Was Reconstruction? by Sherri L. Smith (juvenile nonfiction)

From Who HQ the latest providing history of the Reconstruction period in the United States. Reconstruction is the post war recovery following the Civil War. The Who is, Who was, and What was series from Who HQ is a popular historical series written for children. But adults, give it a try, you may learn something new.


Other reads from March

The Murder Book by Thomas Perry (suspense- recommended by Mary)

Really Good Actually by Monica Heisey (family life)

Butterfly Child by Marc Majewski (excellent picture book)


Dawn:

Room by Emma Donoghue (thriller)

The story is told from the perspective of a 5-year-old boy, Jack, who is being held captive in a room along with his mom.


Karen:

The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner (historical)

Woman visiting England searches for history of a hidden apothecary that dispensed poison to unhappy women.


Mary:

Looking for Jane by Heather Marshall (women)

This “powerful debut” (Hello! Canada) for fans of Kristin Hannah and Jennifer

Chiaverini about three women whose lives are bound together by a long-lost letter, a

mother’s love, and a secret network of women fighting for the right to choose—inspired

by true stories. —Amazon


Megan:

The Three Little Guinea Pigs by Erica S. Perl (picture book)

A cute retelling of The Three Little Pigs. The three guinea pigs work together to

outsmart the fox.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

April 2024 staff picks

Amee: Starling House by Alix E. Harrow (fantasy) Everyone On The Train Is A Suspect by Benjamin Stevenson (whodunit mystery) Karen: Weyward by Emilia Hart Three women in 2019, 1942, and 1619 are conne

March 2024 staff picks

Amee: The Busy Body by Kemper Donovan A whodunit mystery with two unlikely amateur detectives, a former presidential candidate and the ghostwriter for her memoir. The characters were interesting and t

January 2024 staff picks

Staff Picks January 2024 Amee: The Little Italian Hotel by Phaedra Patrick After her husband leaves, Ginny Splinter takes the anniversary holiday she had planned. Feeling lost, she invites 4 strangers

Commentaires


bottom of page